vintagehomespun

a love of all things vintage and homemade

Rainy Afternoons September 26, 2011

Filed under: Crochet,Family — vintagehomespun @ 3:18 pm
Tags: , , ,

Of which there have been one or two lately! But I don’t really mind as it gives me the opportunity to get on with some quiet crochet.

My Northern Lights shawl was cast off on Friday night and is currently awaiting blocking. Photos to follow once that has taken place. Unfortunately I couldn’t get round to it over the weekend so hopefully tomorrow…

However, in the meantime my Lucy pack has arrived so I was able to immediately begin my ripple blanket. I love it already!! I’m on to the 3rd row and I’m using the colour order from the Granny Stripe blanket as I really like that. The yarn is soft and lovely to work with and all in all it’s an absolute joy! Originally I had planned this for my cousin’s baby, due next year, but my daughter was so tickled to see my excitement when the yarn arrived in the post, and as we’re decorating her room right now, I ‘ve decided to make it for her. She’s 12 and a half, and has been involved in choosing the paint and wallpaper, a new rug, and a photo frame/wall clock too, and for me this seems the perfect gift to round it all off. I hope she thinks so too.

So, my husband’s hand is on the mend which means we should be able to start wallpapering this week. Meanwhile, I’ll keep rippling. It’s so soothing, and this afternoon, while the rain was pouring down, I rippled away watching Downton Abbey. Perfect xx

The best kind of parcel

My favourite kind of post!

 

Leave a Reply

