vintagehomespun

a love of all things vintage and homemade

Tuesday’s Tallies – It’s been a while…! October 2, 2012

Filed under: Crochet,Knitting,Tuesday Tallies — vintagehomespun @ 5:50 pm
Tags: , ,

Yes, it certainly has been a while since I last joined in with Tuesday’s Tallies. What can I say? I’ve been absent from Blogland, not posting or even commenting much. Sometimes life gets in the way! Exams, holidays, family – everything else has to take a back seat when priorities shift. But that’s not a bad thing either, and I’m now able to come back, fresh and raring to go.

So, what have I been up to in the meantime, in a crafting way, of course. Well, I’m totally hooked on socks just now. I joined a Ravelry group, Sock Knitters Anonymous, which has all sorts of sock related knitting challenges – mystery sock kals, designer knits, colour themes, etc. I’ve tried colour work, cables, 2 at a time – lots of new techniques and ideas. There’s also another group, 52 and 26 pair plunge, which aims to knit either 52 or 26 pairs of socks in a year so I signed up for that too. It may cure me of my current fad! Or not…! I’ll try to show you some photos soon.

With crochet, I still have a couple of WIPS on the go, surprise, surprise! My Square Swap blanket is now coming together. I’ve started to border each square, and join them as I go, in the order in which they arrived. Unfortunately I’m still waiting for a few, but I haven’t given up hope yet. My plan now is to border and join one square each day for my new Tuesday’s Tallies project.

Joining as I go!

And I’m really looking forward to catching up with everyone else over at Gingerbread Girl’s blog.

Happy Tuesday xx

 

18 Responses to “Tuesday’s Tallies – It’s been a while…!”

  1. Niamh Says:

    Beautiful squares, love the colours.

  2. Candace Says:

    I’d love to try some socks but I don’t think my knitting ability is up for such a challenge right now.

    Love the blanket, its annoying when people sign up for things and don’t complete what they signed up for. Hope the squares you are waiting for are just late and not missing.

  3. I am not a knitter person, but envious of those who can make cosy looking socks!
    Love the blanket, and your squares 🙂 bordering blankets aren’t my favourite thing though

  4. Heidi Says:

    Love your swap squares. With joining one a day, you will be finished before you know it.

    I envy all knitters since i do not knit. I talk my mother or a friend into knitting socks for me every now and then. I love them over my thin socks in the winter to keep my feet warm. Have fun knitting all those socks on the 56 challenge.

    Hugs from Holland,
    Heidi

  5. Janette Says:

    I love it!!

  6. http://bumpyduey.blogspot.co.uk/ Says:

    I’m loving that blanket!
    It’s been about 2 years since I made some socks. I wonder what happened to them??? Off to look through the top drawer 🙂

  7. maree Says:

    This blanket is going to look amazing once it is finished,. Really hope the missing squares arrive soon enough!

  8. jolan66 Says:

    I like your blanket very much! And knowing that every swap square has a different story makes it even more special I guess. I’m a crochet/knitter too.. but not socks. Scarfs, and lots of them:-)

  9. terra Says:

    I love your squares and its colours, beautyful! The idea of knitting socks is interesting but i didn’t knit any sock before. I want to try – …sometime… Greetings from Germany. Sabine.


Leave a Reply

